Entertainment

Cracked In Beloit

JOEY LONG, Contributor

This weekend, 12 representatives from the comedy website Cracked.com will be flying to Beloit from Los Angeles to premiere their first ever feature film, “Kill Me Now,” in La Casa Grande this Friday at 7:30 p.m. These visitors include writers, actors, comedians, the film’s director, and the editor in chief of the website. Though the film was not officially funded by the website, most of the cast members/behind the scenes staff are writers at Cracked, and the site was very supportive of the film. Following the premiere, there will be an hour of live sketch comedy from the Cracked comedians, and then a Q&A. There will be another viewing of the film on Saturday in Bushel and Pecks at 5:00 p.m., and a sketch performance later that night in C-Haus.

On a personal level, this event has been  a complicated and very new experience, since I have personally never been given responsibility of this magnitude before (for good reason).  Being an intern for BIFF has not only revealed how lazy and underachieving my college career has been prior to this, but it has also motivated me to work harder and become thorough. I mean, by no stretch of the imagination am I any more collected than I used to be. I’m still a colossal mess. ADD is my master, and I am it’s petty slave. But that’s not the point.

The point is that in my final semester at Beloit, I’ve been able to find that special something. BIFF has allowed me to pursue a project I’m passionate about, and provided me the freedom and resources to put my time and energy into making this show unforgettable.              Trust me, I’ve been going crazy over this thing. I even flew to LA to seal the deal in person with the representatives from Cracked. But that’s a different debacle altogether. Long story short, my balls are to the wall. This event will be a success if it kills me.

I encourage every student who is looking for an awesome Friday evening and doesn’t mind spending $5 on a ticket to attend this event. I promise you will be entertained. These people know what they’re doing. That’s got to count for something.

Tickets are $8 for non-students, and $5 for students.

Friday, Feb. 17

La Casa Grande @ 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 18

Bushel & Peck @ 5:00 p.m.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

