Sports

Who the Buc Is Ike Watson?

Carolyn Stransky, STAFF WRITER

This marks the triumphant return of “Who the Buc are you?”, a weekly interview with a Beloit College athlete. This week’s Buc: Ike Watson ‘12.

Sport(s)?

Swimming (Captain)

Major(s)/Minor(s)?

International relations/Russian

What do you like best about Beloit?

The freedom to do a lot of things and be involved with so much. There’s not a whole lot of stipulations preventing you from doing what you want to do. There’s also a lot of… interesting people.

What is your spirit animal and why?

I took a Facebook quiz once that said I was a wolf. It said stuff like “leadership” and “lone”…

What is your favorite Commons meal?

Pancakes at the Fresco Grill, but they haven’t done that in a while.

Why did you decide to do your sport(s) in college? 

During my freshman year I was working as a lifeguard and Kevin (the swim coach) asked me if I wanted to swim, and I said sure. It was that easy.

What are the highs and lows of your sport(s)?

The satisfaction of being able to finish an event is a high. Either that, or how close the team is. We’re such a close group and we have a lot of fun together. The only low I can think of is being sore constantly.

What are a few of your favorite things?

Playing with dogs, being free and rustic in the outdoors, shooting stuff, hanging out.

What’s the number one thing on your bucket list?

I want to go skydiving that ends with scuba diving. As in, jumping out of a plane and then landing in the water with scuba gear on.

What do you do on the weekends?

I spend a lot of time in the swimming townhouse, ice skating, driving to Whitewater or Madison, or swimming.

If you could invite any three people to a dinner party, who would you invite?

John Belushi, Chris Farley, and Dan Ackroyd.

Did you dream last night?

I dreamed that I was in a plane and it was going in for a crash landing, but all of a sudden the plane turned into an umbrella, but I continued to fall. I landed in the jungle and soon after I pretty much turned into Tarzan.

What are on the walls of your room?

Tons of posters. I’ve been told none of my posters make any sense because they’re all different. Some examples are Ninja Turtles, polar bears, Jessica Alba, pictures from home, a monkey with headphones, and Transformers.

What songs do you sing in the shower?

Basically anything. Before swim meets though I’ve been known to sing “Roses” by Outkast and “Pink Triangle” by Weezer.

Did you study abroad?

I went to Moscow, Russia. It was a lot of fun, I made a lot of friends that I continue to keep in contact with, and I’m hoping to go back in the near future. I was also able to do some short trips to St. Petersburg and Volgrad.

What inspires you?

One of the things that inspires me is trying to make my life the best it can be, because you never know what’s going to happen. I live each day, day by day.

Plans after college?

As of now, I have two different ideas. One is working for the government and going into defense and diplomacy. Another route I’m looking at is getting myself involved with a search and rescue program.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

