Entertainment

How Many Editors Does it Take to Review the Muppet Movie?

Several of the Round Table editors saw the Muppet movie. They also reviewed it. These are their stories.

Mark: In the words of Dan Bernstein, “If you’d like to spend two hours smiling, go see The Muppets.” This is a must-see for anyone who watched “Sesame Street,” “The Muppet Show,” any Muppet movies and for anyone who has a heart and working laugh muscles. “The Muppets” is a hysterical movie that never attempts to take itself seriously. The only problem I had with this movie is the inner struggle I am now facing regarding whether I am a Muppet of a man or a very manly Muppet. I’m leaning toward the latter, but who can be sure? The bottom line is, you need to go watch this movie so that I can talk to you about it. You certainly won’t regret it.

Bert: As a human being incapable of love, this movie was very taxing for me because it made me want to love so badly. And then, resist as I might, I took Lil’ Wayne’s advice and learned “How To Love.” I’ll stop. But seriously, see this movie as soon as possible. Everyone who isn’t a Muppet is hilarious and obviously Kermit and the gang are endearing as f*ck. If there was an original soundtrack available for purchase, I would totally purchase it. Oh there is? I never signed anything.

Jeremy: Miss Piggy makes a flashy comeback in the latest Muppet movie, standing out as Miranda Priestly from “The Devil Wears Prada” complete with Emily Blunt as her own personal, sassy secretary. She reprises her roles alongside Kermit and the rest of the Muppets. Kermit and Miss Piggy see each other years after breaking up, and Miss Piggy “has a new life,” one she created for herself. On top of that, she takes the reigns when Kermit gets discouraged about redoing their old show to save the Muppet Studios from being torn down. Luckily, Miss Piggy was there to save the day!

Steven: I was looking forward to “The Muppets” before I knew anything about it. Before I knew about its star-studded cast (puppets and otherwise), before I was aware that the score was by Flight of the Conchords’ Bret Mackenzie, and before I realized the plot involved 1) an evil oil tycoon and 2) a race against time to save the Muppets legacy. In no way was I disappointed, but one thing left me a little confused. Who the f*ck was that giant blue guy? In several scenes, there’s a huge lumbering blue thing, kind of like a cross between Jabba the Hut and Big Bird—except that it’s like nothing you’ve ever seen. A little research solved the mystery of this puppet. His name is Thog, and he originally appeared in a 1970 Muppets Christmas special. Although his size is imposing, he has a “sweet and gentle disposition,” according to Muppet Wiki. His role in the new Muppets movie is his first appearance in over 30 years.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

