Entertainment

If I Only Had A Blog…

By Bert Connelly
ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

I am going to devote this introductory paragraph to a little obituary for Steve Jobs. Without him there would not have been an iPod and while I am not well enough versed in technology to claim that another device would not have taken its place, I do know that basically everyone has at one point walked around with those tiny white earbuds. And now, some more words.

XV – Saturday in Pearsons

Ok so don’t get it twisted y’all, XV does not have an album/mixtape/book/song or anything called “Saturday in Pearsons,” he is just playing there tomorrow. XV is an up and coming rapper from Wichita, Kansas who tends to rap kind of generically over good beats. He says things like, “I don’t make it rain, dear/You can talk to Prancer,” which is actually kind of clever when I see it written out like that. Ok the thing is, if one wants to be technical, he is solid rapper who raps well about everyday things, which is awesome if that’s what you’re looking for. Yeah. I recommend checking out his mixtape “Vizzy Zone” before going to his show in that DK’s space on Saturday night at 9:30pm to hear him say something like, “What’s good tonight, Madison?” before he remembers where he actually is. Fun fact: I hope he doesn’t read this.

James Blake – Enough Thunder EP

http://www.abeano.com/james-blake-enough-thunder/7661

Sometimes James Blake puts me to sleep. Other times James Blake scares the shit out of me. All the times James Blake is engrossing and cool. James Blake is a singer/songwriter/composer from across the pond that has one eponymous album under his belt. You can stream his most recent EP and enjoy the really interesting cover of the Joni Mitchell song, “A Case For You,” and the collaborative effort with Bon Iver called, “Fall Creek Boys Choir.” If nothing else, Blake has a great voice and a really interesting approach. I missed him at Pitchfork this summer, but apparently he was one of the highlights of the festival. So check it out, for me.

Gilbere Forte – Some Dreams Never Sleep

Gilbere Forte is a man who raps and hails from Flint, MI. If you’ve never heard of him, hey, that’s ok, but here is a brief list of artists who have heard of him: Big K.R.I.T, Bun B, Jim Jones, Pusha T, Asher Roth, Kanye West, Diplo and more. The majority of those artists are featured on Forte’s new tape. There is nothing groundbreaking or revolutionary about this album, but it a really solid hip-hop mixtape. Really good beat production and good rapping to boot. Also, I gave his joint with Big K.R.I.T. the illustrious title of song of the week last week so, you know, that’s got to count for something.

Memory Tapes – Modcast #95

http://jamjar.s3.amazonaws.com/modcasts/modcast-95-memory-tapes-slaughtered.mp3

I just finished listening to this and this might be the best thing that happened this week. The Internet told me that this is a project from a dude named Davye Hawk. The concept (ugh, I know right?) is that this Hawk fellow wanted to put out a 23-minute song under the ruse of it being a mixtape. I don’t know how to put this into a genre, it’s mostly noise that is super catchy, but a rose by any other name is still a rose or some sh*t. You can stream this guy for free.99 so be sure to follow the link I posted on the website for the deal. It’s actually really good and incredibly well put together.

Travis Porter – Differenter 3

Travis Porter is a rap trio from Georgia that does not get enough attention. You might know them from “Make it Rain” or “Bring it Back.” They rap about having money, winning, women, drugs, automobiles and strip clubs. Actually, now that I think about it, the soundtrack to my strip club commute is always Travis Porter. This tape features Wale, Meek Mill, Kelly Rowland, Jeremih, Tyga, Lloyd, Big Sean and mo’. I guess it might be pertinent to mention there is a part of this album title in parenthesis and that part reads, (Road Trips & Big Tits). Yeah, that was pertinent. Check out “10 Bottles,” “Ayy Ladies,” and “Tatted Up.”

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

