Opinion

And That’s Why You Never Cancel Everyone’s Favorite TV Show

By Sasha Debevec-McKenney
OPINIONS EDITOR

“Arrested Development” is coming back for 10 new episodes and a movie. Would it be going too far to say that this news is our generation’s JFK moment? Because I don’t care. Because I will always remember where I was when I first read Will Arnett’s (or, G.O.B.’s) fateful tweet: “I’m peeing with @batemanjason at the moment […] and we can confirm that we are going to make new AD eps and a movie.” I was in a car on the way to Chipotle, and I thought, even though I’m being forced to listen to The Carter IV right now, I don’t care, because Arrested Development is coming back, and everything’s going to be okay. 

“Arrested Development” is the show that turned me into the TV snob I am today. I have been studying creative writing in school for almost eight years and I still have absolutely no idea how any normal human being could write something so intricate and self-referential and hilarious. As far as I’m concerned, “Arrested Development” is art.

You have to understand that in high school I bought “The Office: UK” script books and read through them multiple times because I wanted so badly to understand how to write comedy.  To this day, I am convinced that Mitchell Hurwitz, its creator and executive producer, can see into the future. How else could he make a stupid chicken dance joke last three seasons?

Admittedly, I tend to take television a little bit too seriously. But “Arrested Development” amazed me and proved to me that there was legitimate value to humor in writing.

Since “Arrested Development” ended I have hit a lot of lows. I went to some extremes to get my fix—for example, sitting through “The Brothers Solomon” and “Let’s Go To Prison” because I missed G.O.B so much. But I don’t have to do things like that anymore. “Arrested Development” is coming back. I thought that something I loved had gone away forever but so many other people loved it that it came back. That idea is beautiful whether or not you think TV can ever be considered art.

All I have to say is: Dear God, thank you for correcting your huge mistake and bringing back my favorite comedy of all time.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

