Sports

Women’s LAX Program Gets Started

By Carolyn Stransky

CONTRIBUTOR

This past August, Meredith Newman was hired

as Beloit’s first women’s lacrosse coach. Newman

wasted no time getting the program up and running.

After only working a month, Newman has begun to

build a solid foundation for her team.

“I have a recruiting pool of about 400, and, out

of those, I have 40 that I keep in constant contact

with. I’m also in the process of ordering equipment,

uniforms, getting posters made, doing a lot of PR

work and just putting the Beloit College Women’s

Lacrosse brand out there,” said Newman. “I take my

clothing and apparel very seriously. You have to look

legit to be legit.”

Newman is not shy to the field. As a player at Sweet

Briar College in Sweet Briar, Virginia, Newman

was a four-year letter winner, serving as captain her

junior and senior year and earning a spot on the 2009

Old Dominion Athletic Conference All-Academic

Squad her senior season. Newman gained coaching

experience in Ohio as Kenyon College’s ladies’

assistant coach for the last two seasons.

“When I came onto campus in the summer, I had

a sense that this was a truly special place, not only

from its visual aspects, but in that every person that

I met walked right up to me, looked me in the eye,

shook my hand and welcomed me to campus,” said

Newman. “Every interview and every conversation

made it clear that the faculty had a vested interest in

the success of each and every student here at Beloit

– and this philosophy is directly in line with my own

and the education that I completed.”

Newman believes that in order for one to expect

the best out of themselves, they must enjoy what

they are doing. “Passion, dedication, and excellence

are my core values,” she said. “I will do whatever it

takes to get where I want to go, and I expect the

same from my athletes because when everyone is

united under a common goal the opportunities for

success are limitless.”

Although women’s lacrosse may not be as physical

as men’s, Newman believes that women’s lacrosse will

bring just as many benefits to the Beloit community.

“Women’s lacrosse will continue to elevate the

success that our department is accustomed to

experiencing,” said Newman. “We will continue

to heighten the prestige of being a Beloit College

student athlete.”

The first season of women’s lacrosse will commence

spring of 2013. Until then, Newman will continue

with the process of recruitment, apparel ordering

and other general preparations.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

