Features

Me-o, My-o, Apple Pie-o

Clara Baker ‘13 presenting her autumnal caramel apple treat for the sweet -toothed co-op. PHOTO BY MACKENZIE WEEKES

By Clara Baker
CONTRIBUTOR

There is something special about my mom’s apple pie. She makes it throughout summer, fall and for Thanksgiving. There’s a special topping my mom, grandma and great grandma have all made out of butter, sugar and love that melts and caramelizes to give you a crunchy, perfect bite. There are liberties that we take with cinnamon that I have never seen others do (hint, pour, pour, pour, taste, pour more — no sprinkling
nonsense), and we always make the pie crust from scratch.

During pie eating, no matter how good the filling is, I realize that if you don’t make the pie
crust from scratch, you’ve lost me. My mom has issues with pie crust, though. I’ll come home and watch her throw out an entire batch of “useless” crust as she blames it on the weather, elevation or the temperature of the water for the reason why she somehow couldn’t get it to roll out properly. A good solution I’ve found if you have trouble rolling it out is to let it sit for five minutes. I remember hearing once to let the gluten strands rest in the flour.

The following is my great grandma’s, grandma’s, my mother’s and my simple recipe
for apple pie. But to be honest, I purposely don’t ever write it down. I love that I have a reason to call my mother for the filling recipe and my grandmother for the crust recipe every time I make pie.

Filling:
– Peel apples, core and slice. You’ll need 6 cups of
fruit for a large pie.
– 1/4 cup flour.
– Mix with 1 cup white sugar.
– Cinnamon.
– Stir it up.

Crust:
– 1 3/4 cups flour
– 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp cold water.
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 3/4 cup Crisco/ vegetable shortening (vegan) or
butter. Cold to room temp.
– Mix flour, salt. Cut the shortening into the
mixture until you have pea-shaped balls of
shortening/flour mixture. Add cold water. Mix
with hands until you have one big ball of dough.
– Cut dough ball in two.
– Flour a surface/ the rolling pin and roll out the
dough. Place in bottom of pan.

– Pour in filling. Roll out other half of dough.
Place on top. Pinch edges to combine top and
bottom doughs together. Cut an x in the center
of the top of the pie. Take butter and spread
little amounts on top. Mix together 2 tbsps cool
butter, brown sugar and a pinch of cinnamon and
flour until you get a 1/4 cup mixture of crumbly
sugar buttery-ness to sprinkle on top of the pie.

– Bake for 10-15 minutes at 425 degrees F (browns
the top) then for 30-40 minutes at 375 degrees F.
Test with knife to make sure apples are done.

Let cool for an hour then enjoy. Apples are in
season. Get ‘em while they’re available at the
farmer’s market and Apple Hut! Enjoy!

*If you email me and tell me you’re making apple pie I’ll
let you borrow my rolling pin!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

