Sports

Dickson Scores Place in D-III Soccer Tournament

By Lizzi Belmont and Awi Daycubz
DESIGN AND SPORTS EDITORS

Molly Dickson’12 answered questions from The Round Table about her upcoming participation as a member of the USA Division III All-Star Team. Dickson will play among other players awarded All-Region or All-Conference by their NCAA D-III conferences. She will join the team for two days of practice in Florida before journeying to Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro, Brazil May 19 through 26. “I think that it will be interesting playing with new players, but we’re all-conference players so we’ll all have the knowledge and skill level,” said Dickson. Along with soccer, the D-III team will have opportunities to sightsee, work with local children, tour Brazil’s beaches, and explore the culture. Dickson hopes that the trip “will give [her] an idea of how others live outside the United States.”

The Round Table: Major and hometown?

Molly Dickson: Molecular, Cellular, and Integrative Biology major and Chemistry minor. I’m from Egg Harbor, Wis.

RT: How long have you been involved with soccer?

MD: I have been playing soccer since I was 6 or 7 years old. When I was in 8th grade, I started playing club soccer in Green Bay, which was an hour away from where I lived.

RT: What are the best and worst parts of soccer?

MD: I like that there is always something going on and you are always doing something, even if it is a low scoring game. The worst part is probably playing games when it is cold and rainy.

RT: What do you view are your biggest accomplishments in your soccer career?

MD: One of my favorite memories from club soccer was when we played a really good team from Sweden in a tournament, and I scored three goals. One of my biggest accomplishments at Beloit College was being 1st Team All-Midwest Conference my sophomore year.

RT: What else are you involved with on campus?

MD: I am also a member of Theta Pi Gamma.

RT: Where do you see soccer in your life after Beloit?

MD: I hope to play after college — I know it gets tougher finding places to play but I know that they are out there.

RT: What are you looking forward to most about touring Brazil? 

MD: I am looking forward to getting the chance to play soccer in a different country and giving clinics to local kids.

RT: How do you think the U.S. D-III All-Star team will fare?

MD: I think the U.S. D-III All-Star team will do pretty well. It might take us a game or two to adjust, but we are all good players who love the game. We will all give our best.

RT: If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

MD: I think it would be really cool to be able to fly, and it would make getting around a lot faster.


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

