Opinion

An Open Letter to Senior Open House Prospective Students

By Kathleen Hansen
SOCIAL MEDIA EDITOR

College admissions has held a tender spot in my heart since I applied to schools as a high school senior. Since then, I’ve found parallels with my college applications and experience at Beloit.

I remember cringing when my sister edited my essays, and not really applying her suggestions to them. In hindsight, I regret this. My essays were trite and vague, though I thought they were good at the time. At Beloit, I have worked on my writing a lot and discovered the value of editing and having others look at my work. I regret that it took until my fourth semester for me to become comfortable using the Writing Center.

The point of having good essays is to get into a good school. I didn’t get into a lot of schools that I applied to. This was likely due to many factors, one of which was probably my essays. Yet, through the process, I grew a lot. I hung out on CollegeConfidential. I participated in a thread in which several women supported each other through waiting for a decision from Barnard College.

While waiting, I developed ideas about college admissions. A rejection from a college does not reflect upon your self-worth or your achievements. Simply, a decision has to be made from a pool of very qualified applicants (but, of course, kudos for being accepted to Beloit!). I’m a firm believer in the idea that things happen for a reason and, even if they don’t, it is important to develop the strength to always get back up. I would not have been successful at Barnard. I did not have the skill set to live in New York City.

At Beloit I have gained a developed perspective on rejection. At first, getting rejected from positions, programs, and social situations bothered me. Yet, I have received considerable support from faculty and my peers. Most people have been open to talking with me about a variety of issues. Rejection is inevitable in life, and I feel that Beloit truly prepared me for this reality. In the future, I know that I will face rejection. I look forward to the learning and growth that I have yet to experience.

So, class of 2015: have faith that you will end up where you’re supposed to, whether it is at Beloit or at another school. Wherever you end up, I hope you learn and grow.


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

