Opinion

What’s Hurting Women?

By Kate Finman
CONTRIBUTOR

Beloit, I’m going to be honest with you here. I’m registered to vote under the Republican Party.  I’m as pro-life as pro-life gets. And yes, they do let people like me come to this college.

This past weekend, a bill passed through the United States House of Representatives that would liquidate federal funding for Planned Parenthood clinics. When I heard that this bill passed, I actually squealed in delight. Then it was back to reality: I’m at Beloit College, where every opinion is welcome until you decide to be conservative.  Then it’s “who are you and what are you doing here?”

The Huffington Post, a traditionally liberal newspaper, reported that the passage of this bill was an “all-out war on women.” I’ve heard similar outcries around campus, and do you know what I do? I laugh. I laugh because the earliest feminists, the very people who worked to give women like myself the right to vote, were strongly pro-life. Feminist Susan B. Anthony once referred to abortion as a “monstrous crime,” and wasn’t afraid to call it what it is: “child murder.” Most feminists didn’t even assume a pro-choice position until the 1970s.

There’s a very simple reason for this: abortion hurts women. Women who have abortions deal with stress, anxiety and depression, often for the rest of their lives. They are at a higher risk for suicide. Oh, and for all of you still waving the “women’s right to choose” flag: about 1.3 million infants were aborted this past year, and statistically speaking, about half of those were female. Can I ask where their right to choose is? I can’t speak for them, but I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t choose to die before they ever lived.

But in a few hundred words I’m not going to turn you pro-life, so let’s move past abortion. Let’s talk about how Planned Parenthood has repeatedly snuck around federal mandates when it comes to reporting crimes. There is documented evidence that Planned Parenthood employees bore witness to a prostitution ring and did not report it. Isn’t prostitution illegal in this country? And aren’t federally funded institutions required to comply with federal regulations? What about statutory rape? Sexual abuse? Planned Parenthood has continuously helped perpetrators of these heinous crimes get around rules like parental consent and notification and done absolutely nothing to stop the crime.  I don’t know about you, but I certainly don’t want my tax dollars serving as a catalyst for the perpetuation of sexual abuse. I understand that Planned Parenthood provides other services as well, but let’s get real. They make a lot of money performing abortions and some of these sex traffickers and abusers are their biggest customers. The organization is not acting responsibly, or with integrity, and is a detrimental harm to society.  It’s not the bill that’s an “all-out war on women,” it’s the organization itself.


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

