Features

Hard Alcohol Narratives

Compiled by Zoe Gahan
CONTRIBUTOR

While these stories may be entertaining to a degree, they are ultimately to illustrate the dangers of hard alcohol. These are all stories directly from other students here on Beloit campus  — your peers and friends. Ask around, and I’m sure you will encounter many more — some entertaining, some humiliating, some down-right frightening and dangerous.

During one of my first weeks at Beloit College, I drank far too much vodka and passed out in a lounge amongst other people who were drunk. I had not realized that I had fallen asleep near a group of people who had a permanent marker and a bizarre sense of humor. When I woke up the next morning, I had a marker mustache, several derogatory and sexual phrases scrawled on me, and a written reminder that someone had farted on my face while I was passed out.

In junior year of high school, I had a night of drinking only gin. Amid the debauchery, I forgot that I needed to be home early that night and thus went home (not in a car) quite inebriated. When I woke up the next morning, my parents were standing by my bed looking down at me. My mom asked if I’d been drinking the night before. Out of reaction, I quickly responded that I had not. She said that she found that interesting, as I had repeatedly told her the night before, “I only had one drink.” Upwards of thirty times. Loudly. While my parents were carrying me to bed after finding me passed out on my bathroom floor. Needless to say, situations with my parents were tense for quite some time.

On a summer night a few years ago, I was drinking mixed drinks for a few hours when friends, and I decided to go for a swim in the host’s pool. After a while of drunken swimming, I started jumping and diving off of the diving board. I made a full-speed dive directly downward and slammed my head against the concrete bottom of the pool. It shocked me for a few moments, and I had to remind myself to go up for air. At the time, there was no one left in the pool area, and everyone else was far enough away that, had I seriously injured myself diving in, no one would have noticed.

During this past summer, I attended a party and was drinking whiskey straight from the bottle. First off, I must have looked a fool and an idiot; that loud drunk girl annoying everyone, clearly getting no satisfaction from drinking straight liquor but continuing anyway. Second, I was wasted within an hour. I vaguely remember stumbling outside to smoke and almost falling into the hosts’ bonfire. Everything is black from then on, until I came-to making out with a random guy in the bathroom. Drunkenly, we started to have sex. Without a condom. While people pounded on the door and yelled at us to get out. The faces we met when we finally opened the door were not pleasant. Even in my drunken state I was completely and utterly humiliated at my actions, and still am. I don’t even remember the guy’s name.

One year during high school on Halloween, I picked up some friends to head over to a party. We planned to stay and sleep on the couch, as there were large amounts of liquor being consumed. After a point, everything goes black in my memory. I came out of the black-out fumbling with the lock of my parents front door at four in the morning after having driven the fifteen miles home. I have absolutely NO recollection of driving to my house. It still scares me to this day to think of the danger I put myself and others in while operating a vehicle in that state.

Everyone makes mistakes, but when they concern hard liquor the consequences could be potentially humiliating, dangerous or even fatal. Try to learn from your friends and peers when it comes to dangerous decisions and actions concerning liquor, just as you might learn from them about any other subject. Be open to discussion and don’t be afraid to call someone out if they are putting themselves or you in an uncomfortable or dangerous situation. Though it’s not guaranteed you’ll receive a ‘thank you’ later, you may have diverted a potentially humiliating or life-threatening situation, and there’s something to be said for that.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

