Sports

Who the BUC Are You?

By Nina Salazar
CONTRIBUTOR

Round Table: So who are you? Can you tell me a little about yourself?
Matt Floyd: Matt Floyd, I’m a sophomore. Undecided major as of right now, maybe history and education.
RT: Where are you from?
MF: Wisconsin, over by Platteville.
RT: What do you want to do with your intended major?
MF: Well I still have to figure out what I want to do with the rest of my life, a lot of people have told me that I would make a great teacher, so I’m looking into it. I’ve been taking random classes to see what I like, but I love history.
RT: Do you have a favorite professor or class?
MF: My favorite professor so far is Paul Stanley. He’s a really funny guy and he’ll keep you awake in an 8am class, so that’s pretty good by itself. He’s a really good teacher.  Actually I haven’t found any bad teachers, and that’s one of the main reasons why I chose Beloit.
RT: Can you expand on that a little, why you chose Beloit?
MF: Yea, I had actually never heard of Beloit, until I started looking around and they sent me some stuff but I still wasn’t too interested.  But my dad got me into looking at the private colleges, so I applied to places like Ripon, Lawrence, Marquette and Beloit. The football coaches were recruiting me at three different schools, so I came on a visit and that’s what got me. The visit was a great time, I met a lot of great guys and I thought I would fit in here really well. I sat in on a Roman History class, and I had a lot of fun, so this is where I decided to come.
RT: So now that you’re here, what’s your favorite thing about Beloit?
MF: There are a lot of great things about Beloit: the professors, the environment, the social aspect, the policies for the school, they make everything easier and you don’t have to worry about getting in trouble for certain things that most people do anyway, like drinking. Also, going to a small school allowed me to play two sports. There aren’t many colleges where you can be in two sports and keep up your with your schoolwork and GPA and they’re really good about that here.
RT: Are you involved with any clubs or organizations on campus?
MF: Sigma Chi, other than that I am involved with the new Beloit—the sac…
RT: The BSAAC??
MF: Ha, The BSAAC, yes! Very cool name, very easy to make fun of… So that and then football and track.
RT: Are there any clubs or organizations that you’re curious about in particular?
MF: Well I get e-mails from the CCOC, and I see all these volunteering opportunities for reading to the elementary schools, but the problem is they are usually during football or class times. It’s hard to find the time to do the extra stuff I want to do.
RT: What position are you in football and what do you do in track?
MF: I am strong safety on defense in football and then I pole vault in track.
RT: Can you tell me a little bit about what pole vaulting entails?
MF: Well, as Coach Bliese always says, pole vaulting is a weird sport in that you are always upside down looking at your balls. That’s how Coach Bliese puts it, but it’s a really dangerous sport. You just have a fiberglass pole, run as fast as you can and go up as high as you can.
RT: So, on a darker note, what don’t you like about Beloit? What would you want to change?
MF: I would like to change the perception of other students on campus about the athletes.
RT: So, favorite NFL or College team?
MF: Oh yea, Green Bay Packers, for sure. You can’t live your whole life in Wisconsin and not be a Packer fan.
RT: So what do you think about the argument that college football is way better to watch than the NFL? Like how people say it seems like they try harder, and that it’s more fun to watch?
MF: Oh, yea I’ve heard of this argument. I’ve heard a lot of people say that once you make it to the NFL they get cocky and think they’re better than everyone else, and that can definitely be true. Usually the best players from college go to the NFL but I feel like there are a lot of college athletes that like to have fun, and there’s no money involved, so I agree that college is the better environment. I still love to watch the NFL.
RT: Do you think you are a more of a college football player or NFL player, in terms of personality?
MF: Ha, oh definitely college. I don’t plan on going on to play sports; I didn’t even plan to play in college. But I am really happy that I am in sports. I’ve met a lot of great people.
So what is your favorite sport to watch on T.V.?
MF: Definitely football, I can’t wait until the Packers start up again, I’m in three fantasy football leagues.
RT: So is there anything that you would want Beloiters to know about you?
MF: Even though I am in sports and I am in Sigma Chi, there are things I did in high school that people would have no idea. I was in Pep band and I was in choir for four years, and I was a tenor.
RT: Is there anything about Beloit that you want people to know?
MF: Maybe just all the opportunities, you don’t really know about all of them until you get here, I am still realizing some of them. Study abroad, that’s pretty well known, and all the opportunities to help out on and off campus. And then another big part is the professors, you don’t know how good they are until your here. You can go to ratemyprofessor.com and check them out, but it’s not comparable in my opinion. They’re all just awesome.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

